June 14, 2008 – Birth Story #2

Mikey 6 months

After my incident at 12 weeks every thing, as far as I can remember, went pretty smoothly. At 28 weeks I went into preterm labor (4cm, 100% effaced and bulging sac) and was admitted to the hospital. They gave me Magnesium Sulfate (aka Liquid Hell) to stop labor. That drug was so awful, I was in an out of coherency, vomiting, hot flashes, sweating, everything.

A neonatologist came and spoke to me- he told us what to expect if the baby was born now.

I remained there, on bed rest, and Procardia until 32 weeks. I was bored out of my mind and had a 9 month old at home. My husband again was out of town so my mother was left taking care of her and bringing her to see me every day.

I begged everyone that I saw to please let me go home.

At 31+1 day I was released.

The following day my mom, Jordin, and I went to Sam’s Club. I was in so much pain, I was hunched over trying to walk. I didn’t think it was contractions. Just thought I was used to being on bed rest and not used to walking any distance. I had to get a motorized cart to make it through the store. When we got into the car I was moaning in main, jumping out of my seat.

When I got home I took a bath in Epsom Salt (Magnesium Sulfate) because I read that can stop contractions. It did not work.

We waited for my husband to get home from work so he could watch our daughter. He arrived after 1:00am. We went straight to the hospital.

I was hooked up to monitoring machines and was having hard and long contractions. The triage nurses were horrible. I was told, “You didn’t KNOW that you were having contractions?! How can you NOT know!? Do you REALIZE that your baby is going to be hooked up to all kinds of tubes and could DIE!?”

Yes. I knew.

I kept asking them what position the baby was in as they never performed and ultrasound before calling a doctor (Dr. Scobie – NOT my doctor or practice anymore!) I was told, with a condescending tone of course, “Well, I guess he’s head down, isn’t he?” I told them that he was the previous week but it HAD been a week!

Not me 🙂

I was told there was no way that they could stop the labor. I told them that I did not want any pain meds or an epidural. I was told that I didn’t have a choice, that the epidural would “keep the baby in” and I was put in a room to labor in a bed with the head slighty down, again, “to keep the baby in”. This upside-down position made the epidural basically go to my head – I was having a hard time trying to catch my breath because my chest and up to my neck were numb. My O2 was fine but it was just the feeling of not being able to breathe. But it freaked me out…bad! A new nurse came in a few times to check my progression. At around 11:00am Dr. Lebder came in and said that we were ready to deliver. (Mind you I had been there since around 1:15am)

He sat down on the stool between my legs and reached up inside of me. He reached up to look at me with a confused and concerned look on his face and said, “What position was he in?”

“The nurses in triage wouldn’t give me an ultrasound – even though I asked them several times” I said.

He seemed annoyed and told the nurse next to him to go get the ultrasound. He told me, “I think i feel a little foot!”

The ultrasound showed that Mikey’s foot was, in fact, pushing through my cervix.

Footling Breech

The doctor seemed to get frantic and informed me (I was alone in the room at this point) that we were going to have to have an emergency c-section. I freaked out and started crying. Not that anyone ever “wants” a c-section but I did NOT want to have a c-section!!

My family returned to the room and I was crying. I told them what the doctor said.

Within about a minute we were rushed into the operating room.

Everything was going well but I started to feel the pain, not the pressure they told me to expect from pressing on my fundus to get the baby out. So they juiced me up with some extra pain med through my epidural.

The jerk doctor peeked over the curtain and said, “Are you getting your tubes tied?”    I told him that I was not. He chuckled commented to the rest of the crew, “Well, she needs to think about getting that done.”  I guess because I got pregnant with Mikey 3 months after Jordin was born. But whatever.

I heard them chatting amongst themselves and heard them say the baby was out. I remember panicking and asking my husband why he wasn’t crying. I don’t remember much after that.

I woke up in the recovery room and had no idea where I was. Everything was white and fuzzy and I kept falling asleep. I couldn’t say awake long enough to get out the words I was trying to say. I was so thirsty and kept asking for something to drink, some ice or something. I never got a response. I remember crying and falling back asleep many times. Mikey’s father was just out of my vision behind my head and I just kept hearing him sobbing. But he wouldn’t answer me when I called. I kept asking him what was wrong. And he just kept crying and telling me “He’s so small, he’s so small”   I remember thinking he was mad at me and I kept apologizing for being so “out of it”  but all I wanted was some ice.

3 1/2 years later – a few weeks ago to be exact – Mikey’s father finally told he why he was tripping out so bad. He said when they took Mikey out he was blue and limp and that the Doctor picked him up and ran him over to the other side of the room where he began neonatal resuscitation also known as CPR. Mikey had failed to breathe on his own. And was not responding. He said that the dr was frantically trying to get him to breathe. And he kept saying, “Come on, buddy! Breathe, come on little guy!” and then going back down for some more CPR.

While everyone else got to see him in the NICU – everyone was very hush and seemed like something was wrong. In my drug induced daze I thought nothing of it, I was just antsy to see him. But no one was telling me anything and the nurse told me that I could not see him until I had feeling back in my legs.

I never saw Mikey until several hours later.

Mikey

He spent a month in the NICU and really had no more issues other than trying to regulate body temperature.

I on the other hand did not eat for a few weeks and lost a lot of weight. I drug myself (to prove that I wasn’t a crazy person) to see my doctor 2 weeks after Mikey was born (my regular OB at the time – Dr.Dorf) He told me, ” Well,  I expected you to have some post-partum depression, I mean you have two babies in the NICU and one at home!”

I corrected him, “I have one baby in the NICU and a 9 month old at home”

“Nope”, he said,  looking at his chart, “Says right here you’ve got two.” and looked at me like I was the one who had lost my mind.

Well, amazing that I lost one at 12 weeks due to vanishing twin syndrome and they couldn’t update their files, huh!?

Mommy and Mikey – Finally home

Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

2 thoughts on “June 14, 2008 – Birth Story #2

  1. oh dear, what a birth journey you went through. had my rough time too 4 years ago with my 26 weeker. wasn’t easy. take care, God bless 🙂

Leave a Reply

